Adam Barnes - The Land, The Sea & Everything Lost Beneath artwork

Adam Barnes: The Land, The Sea & Everything Lost Beneath

The debut album from Adam Barnes, The Land, The Sea & Everything Lost Beneath, is set for release on Lookout Mountain Records on 11 May, with a London gig (at The Garage) set for 17 May to mark the occasion.

The album, Barnes’ debut, was crowdfunded and completed late last year. It’s the Oxford singer-songwriter’s first release in over two years, and contains 11 tracks (and, additionally, a radio mix of ‘Green’):

  • Music Box
  • Howling
  • Green
  • Come Undone
  • Kuroshio Sea
  • Bruxism
  • Virginia
  • Florence
  • Apples
  • 3 am
  • A Good Storm

It’s a generally comforting, delicate and sad-sounding set of finely-crafted songs, occasionally bursting into moments of anger, pure desolation and – on ‘Virginia’ – a familiar Oxfordian hipster funk. It’s also a pretty impressive showcase of Barnes’ talents. Although the songs are based mainly around his voice and relatively sparse piano and guitar, everything is augmented by the use of some subtle, charming additional instrumentation and effects.

The Land, The Sea & Everything Lost Beneath is available to pre-order now through iTunes. More about Adam Barnes at his Facebook page.